Skip to main navigation.


Southeast Electric encourages students and members to always be learning.  Scholarship funds are always a good way to help with this goal.   In the last 10 years Southeast has awarded over $50,000.00 worth of scholarships.  We consider it an investment in the future of our cooperative. 

Four scholarships are offered each year.  The Southeast Electric Essay Scholarship for $1,000.00, The Basin Electric Power Cooperative Scholarship for $1,000.00, and the Vern Emery Memorial Lineman Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.00. We also nominate a student for the MECA Memorial Scholarship each year, which is $500.00.   This year, four scholarships were awarded for a total of $3,500.00. 

Southeast Electric Cooperative has awarded two $1,000.00 scholarships for 2020.  Winners of the scholarship are Hannah LaBree and Heather LaBree, daughters of Lee & Cam LaBree of Ekalaka, Montana.  Applicants were asked to write an essay explaining what it means to be a good student on a team, in the classroom, and in the community.  Hannah explained that being “diligent in all three categories reflect on the others.  Falling short in one, could result in the failure in another.”  Heather’s thought is that “participating on teams and in the community can be a great source of knowledge even if there is no textbook involved. Learning isn’t just restricted to a classroom, but by being an effective student, we can do our part to make sure we are helping the groups succeed.”  Both ladies plan to attend Montana State University in Bozeman in the fall.   Hannah and Heather have been an inspiration to many and we are excited to see where the future may lead them. 

The Basin Electric Power Cooperative Scholarship is a $1,000.00 scholarship sponsored by Basin Electric Power Cooperative and Southeast Electric Cooperative Inc.   Gracie Tooke is the 2020 recipient of this scholarship.  Gracie was asked to describe how cooperatives can be economic engines for their local communities.  Gracie believes “a single cooperative in a community can provide what is needed for businesses to equip their customers with the goods and services they need and as a result, the economy in the community flourishes.”  Gracie is going to attend Montana State University to study Environmental Sciences.  She is also a State FFA Officer and will be a terrific representative of Carter County.  Gracie is the daughter of Ryan and Johanna Tooke of Ekalaka.


MECA Memorial Scholarship is sponsored by Montana Electric Cooperative Association and is funded from donations provided in memory of rural electric directors, employees and friends. Southeast Electric Cooperative selects a scholarship finalist and submits that application to the MECA Scholarship Committee.  They choose the (1) $500 scholarship recipient from MECA Southeast District including Goldenwest Electric in Wibaux, Mid-Yellowstone Electric in Hysham, Tongue River Electric in Miles City, Yellowstone Valley Electric in Huntley, and Southeast Electric.  This year’s recipient is Wyatt Kittelmann, son of Scott & Kathy Kittelmann of Ekalaka, MT. Wyatt stated “Carter County High School has been an essential stepping-stone in my journey to success. The teachers and staff at CCHS have provided me with the knowledge and life skills that will allow me to thrive as I enter my adult life.”  He also enjoyed taking a dual credit Computer Science course with Montana Digital Academy which developed his skills. Wyatt will be furthering his education at MSU Bozeman.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo